The Grashopper is a revolution in a time when footwear is following the most narrowly defined dictates of fashion, and the classic ladies’ shoe features a slim, pointed style, usually with a stiff leather sole. Comfort just simply does not factor in. Music from the US, affordable travel and, above all, the Student Movement, give the 1960s their contemporary flair. 1964 is the perfect moment for a casual shoe that takes on the theme of time and becomes a symbol of a generation: freedom, idealism and self-determination. Inventor and founder of Sioux, Peter Sapper, designed Germany’s first moccasin in its natural form. When the Grashopper was presented for the first time, it was subject to its fair share of amazement, a little ridicule, but also plenty of admiration. The Grashopper would go on to become the most successful Sioux shoe with worldwide respect and copied many times.  

The pioneer in modern casual wear. The Grashopper already stood for “freedom of feet” in the 1960s and quickly overstepped formal boundaries. It is still as nature made it, even years later: strikingly supple with a natural rubber crepe sole and comfort that your whole body will love. The moccasin sneaker is making its comeback after 50 years featuring new colours and outer materials, colourful shoelaces and contrasting seams.

In addition to the Original version with its crepe sole, new models have also joined the Grashopper family. Above all, innovative, fashionable soles define the look of the New Generation footwear: the real rubber light-cell sole in white or other colours or the light shark sole with its striking teeth.  

Some of the season’s highlights for women include spacy, colourful, flowery styles, particularly in the fashionable fringed look. Patent leather is combined with fine goatskin nubuck – silver, colourful patent leather circles and dark blue polished effects conjure up glamour for your feet. Spring-like florals and imaginative mixes of colours can be found on hard-wearing textiles. The denim shoe tops the fashionable charts with men.

Der Grashopper ist eine Revolution in der Zeit, als die Schuhmode engen Diktaten folgt und der klassische Damenschuh schlank, spitz und üblicherweise mit einer steifen Ledersohle ausgestattet ist. Von Bequemlichkeit weit und breit keine Spur. Musik aus den USA, Reisen zu erschwinglichen Preisen und vor allem die Studentenbewegung bringen in den 60ern Bewegung in das Lebensgefühl der damaligen Generation. 1964 ist der perfekte Moment für einen Casual Schuh, der die Themen der Zeit aufnimmt und zum Sinnbild einer Generation wird: Freiheit, Idealismus, Selbstbestimmung. Sein Erfinder und Gründer von Sioux, Peter Sapper, erfindet den ersten Mokassin in Naturform für Deutschland. Als der Grashopper erstmalig vorgestellt wird, erntet er viel Verblüffung, teilweise Spott aber auch sehr viel Bewunderung. Der Grashopper sollte der erfolgreichste Schuh von Sioux werden, weltweit geachtet, vielfach kopiert. 

 

Der Pionier in Sachen Modern Casual Wear. Bereits in den 60ern stand der Grashopper für „Freiheit den Füßen“und überschritt schnell formelle Grenzen. Heute ist er noch so, wie ihn die Natur vor vielen Jahren geschaffen hat: markant knautschig in der Form, mit der echten Natur-Crêpe-Sohle aus Kautschuk und eine Bequemlichkeit, die nicht nur die Zehen lieben. Nach 50 Jahren erlebt der Mokassin-Sneaker sein Comeback. Mit neuen Farben und Obermaterialien, mit bunten Wechselschnürsenkeln und Kontrastnähten.  

Der original Grashopper Mokassin mit der Natur-Crêpe-Sohle

 

Neben dem Original mit der Crêpe-Sohle ergänzen neue Modelle die Grashopper-Familie. Vor allem innovative, modische Sohlen prägen den Look der New Generation: die Real Rubber Leichtgummi-Sohle in Weiß oder anderen Farben oder die leichte Haifischsohle mit den markanten Zähnen. 

 

 

Zu den Highlights der Saison gehören bei den Damen stylische Plateau Styles auf praktischen schwarzen Leichtgummi Sohlen, gefütterte Booties, die die Füße in der kalten Jahreszeit optimal Warmhalten, bunte Bouclé Styles, sowie spannende Leder, die die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen. Hochglänzendes wird mit feinem Ziegenleder kombiniert –funkelnde Glanzeffekte, geprägte Leder und auch tolle Fellfutter zaubern Glamour an die Füße – lassen jedoch hierbei die Funktion nicht außer Acht.